The Massabesic Audubon Center hosts a variety of recreational and educational programs, and also features a network of trails that explore a variety of upland habitats, which can be broken down into two main sections.
The Yellow Trail and Battery Point Loop combine to form a 3.7 mile out and back to Battery Point. The trail goes past Milne Pond, and has periodic benches for resting. Hikers will be rewarded at Battery Point with good \views across Lake Messabesic. The Yellow Trail is marked with yellow paint, and the Battery Point Loop is marked with red tags.
The Red Trail is a 1 mile loop through fields and forests that is marked with red tags; note that the paths through the field may change location depending on how it is mowed. The Blueberry Point Extension branches off the Red Trail, and features an old Osprey viewing blind.
There are also numerous town owned Fire Roads that branch off of the Audubon maintained trails.
The Center is situated on a point of land known as Battery Point on Lake Massabesic in Auburn, N.H. The Town of Auburn was incorporated in 1845 and was originally part of the Town of Chester. Auburn began as a booming mill and farm town supplying commodities to Manchester and beyond. Saw-, grist-, tool-, and fulling-mills (linen) lined the town’s many streams and river banks. Hospitality and recreation were also vibrant industries.
The Lake became the main source of water for the city of Manchester with the establishment of the Manchester Water Works in 1870. In its heyday it was a prime summertime destination for city workers. There was trolley service to the lake, half a dozen sightseeing steam boats, and many hotels and music halls nearby. In winter, Manchester Coal and Ice operated on the northern shore of the lake to harvest, store, and sell ice for use in the summers before electricity. Massabesic ice was in high demand because of its purity; it was used locally and shipped via rail to Boston and points beyond.
The Center is located on the historic Brown Farm. Luther Brown and his father Joseph Brown owned the farm through the 1800s until purchase by the Parker Farm circa 1900. The land supported livestock, produce and timber operations.
This property is owned and managed by the Audubon Society of New Hampshire. The Audubon Society of New Hampshire is an independent statewide membership organization. It operates nature centers throughout the state that provide educational programs for children and adults. It also protects thousands of acres of wildlife habitat throughout its sanctuaries program and monitors many of the state's endangered species. For more information visit: www.nhaudubon.org.
From NH-101, take exit 1. Proceed on NH-28B South through a traffic circle, then for an additional 1.9 miles. Turn left onto Spofford Road, then after 0.3 miles turn left onto Audubon Way. The parking lot will be on the left.
Success! A new password has been emailed to you.